Devolved government in Kenya – Devolution in Kenya

In the new Constitution of Kenya, the Provincial Administration will be restructured. In the old order, the officials were at the province, district, division, location and the sub-location. They were headed by the provincial commissioners, district commissioners, district officers, chiefs and sub-chiefs, respectively.

A new structure is being worked out to fit in the new two-level devolved governance: the national government and the county. Devolved Government is provided for in Chapter 11 (Articles 174-200) of the new Constitution.

The new laws also replaces the existing eight provinces (Central, Coast, Eastern, North Eastern, Nairobi, Nyanza, Rift Valley and Western) with 47 counties (see First Schedule (Article 6 (1) ) that will be second level of governance after the national government.

Exciting Links
  1. 20 Things Women Should Never, Ever, Do
  2. 20 Things Men Should Never, Ever, Do
  3. Memorable Speech by Idi Amin
  4. Application Form to Marry my Daughter.
  5. 45 Things a Girl Wants But Wont Ask For
  6. The 20 Things You Need To Accomplish In Your 20s

About Gachie

Hello, I'm Josphat Gachie, a DIGITAL MEDIA CONSULTANT and the founder of Softkenya is Kenya's most comprehensive information website. Hope you will get what you want. WELCOME.