Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Kiambu County Government, News, Tenders, Contacts, Website and Map

Kiambu County News

Kiambu is an administrative district in the Central Province and borders Nairobi. Although the county is rural, its urban population is increasing as Nairobi grows rapidly.

The main economic activity in the county is agriculture- tea, coffee, dairy, poultry and horticulture. Kiambu’s major urban centers are Thika, Ruiru, Gatundu, Limuru, Kabete, Githunguri, Kiambaa, Kikuyu, Kiambu, Lari and Karuri.

Tourists Attractions in Kiambu County

Chania Falls and Thika Falls: Both falls lie on either side of the iconic Blue Posts Hotel in Thika.

Fourteen Falls

The falls are located about 65 km from Nairobi off the Thika – Garissa Road. The name is from the fourteen successive falls of water along the famous Athi River, originating from the Aberdare mountains. They form the border between Thika and Machakos districts.

How to get there

21 km from Thika town. Take Thika-Garissa road, turn at Makutano Junction. At the base of Fourteen Falls are large boulders with water cascading 25-feet down.

Where to stay

  • Fourteen Falls Lodge
  • Blue Post Hotel.


Boating, fishing, photography, and bird watching. However the water is polluted so water activities are done at your own discretion.


Near the Fourteen Falls lies Kilimambogo, a Swahili word for the Mountain of the Buffalo and home to the late Great philanthropist Sir Macmillan. Half way up the hill, you will find the graves of Sir Macmillan, his wife and their house help. It is on the foot of this hill that Macmillan entertained Theodore Roosevelt, former President of the United States, and Sir Winston Churchill, former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom.

Thika World War Memorial Park

This park along General Kago road is the final resting place of the souls of gallant African Soldiers.

Mama Ngina Gerdens

These gardens along Mama Ngina Drive boast walkways and public lawns for leisure walks and picnics.

Kiambu County

Kiambu County

Kiambu County Tenders

Kiambu county tenders are awarded in a free, fair and transparency manner in the need to fight corruption in the country.

To access tenders in Kiambu county click the link: for the latest job opportunities in the county.

Kiambu County Jobs

Kiambu County Jobs opportunities for all qualified personnel and those who would wish to work with Kiambu County government. Jobs in Kiambu County are posted on the county website.

Jobs in Kiambu County are awarded in a free, fair and transparency manner in the need to fight corruption in the country.

To access these Kiambu county jobs advertisement click the link Kiambu County Jobs for the latest job opportunities in the county.

Kiambu County Governor and Deputy Governor

The current governor of Kiambu County is Hon. William Kabogo Gitau and the deputy governor is Hon. Gerald Githinji.

Constituencies in Kiambu County

  1. Gatundu South Constituency
  2. Gatundu North Constituency
  3. Juja Constituency
  4. Thika Town Constituency
  5. Ruiru Constituency
  6. Githunguri Constituency
  7. Kiambu Constituency
  8. Kiambaa Constituency
  9. Kabete Constituency
  10. Kikuyu Constituency
  11. Limuru Constituency
  12. Lari Constituency

Kiambu County Wards

Details about Kiambu County Wards will be updated soon…

Facts About Kiambu County

Kiambu County is located in central Kenya, it borders Murang’a county to the North and North East, Machakos county to the East, Nairobi and Kajiado counties to the South, Nakuru county to the West, and Nyandarua county to the North West.

Area (Km 2): 2,543.4 Km 2

Climate/Weather: Temperatures range from a minimum of 12.8°C to a maximum of 24.6°C with an average of 18.7°C. The average rainfall is 989mm per annum.

Road Network: Bitumen Surface (1,358 km), Gravel Surface (682.6 km), Earth Surface (430.1 Km)

Key National Monument(s): None