Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Muranga County Government, News, Tenders, Contacts, Website and Map

Muranga County News

Muranga County is location in central Kenya bordering Nyeri County to the North, Nyandarua to the West, Kiambu to the South and Kirinyaga County to the East.

Education in Muranga County

Education is the key to human growth and development through the core functions of teaching and learning done in the county institutions. This makes the society more enlightened and therefore contributes to the overall development of human resources in the county.
This is one of the major sectors in the county since the growth and development experienced in other sectors relies on well educated people.

Pre-school Education

The county has 1080 ECD centres with total enrolment of 31,944 pupils and 1,127 teachers. The teacher/pupil ratio is 1:28.

Primary Education

The county has 634 primary schools, 6,324 teachers, total enrolment of 214,986 and a transition rate of 70 per cent. The teacher/pupil ratio is 1:34. In this category there is a shortage of teachers which the county government will have to deal with in order to ensure that we attain the required ratio of 1:20. There is need to improve the transition rates in the county.

Literacy (Population Aged 15 Years and Above)

The county’s literacy level stands at 70.1 per cent, where literacy level for male is 73.9 per cent and female is 66.7 per cent. This implies most of the county population can make informed decisions on matters affecting their socio-economic livelihoods.

Secondary Education

The county has 292 secondary schools, 3,206 teachers and a total enrolment of 84,874 students. This represents a gross enrolment of 71.04 per cent. In this category, the government has tried to attain a teacher /student ratio of 1:26. There is need to put more effort in ensuring that gross enrolment is raised to 90 per cent.

Tertiary Education

The county has one science and technology institute (Michuki Technical Traning Institute), forty eight youth polytechnics, three accredited colleges and four non accredited colleges. All these are middle level institutions where the youth who don’t get opportunities to join the universities go and get skills suitable for the labour market.

Tourism in Muranga County

Main Tourist Attractions, National Parks/Reserves

The main tourist attraction sites in the county are the Aberdares National Park and cultural heritage sites that have a rich history on the origins of the Agikuyu people. Such sites are at Mukurwe wa Nyagathanga and Karia Ka Mbari ya Ngware. Moreover, there are also ideal natural sites for hiking and camping at Rapid Camp, Aberdare cottages and sport and leisure fishing sites at Kimakia fishing grounds and Ndakaini Dam.


The main wildlife in the county are elephants which are the major source of human-wildlife conflicts especially in Mathioya and Kigumo constituencies. This is due to the constituencies’ proximity to the Aberdare forest which forms the wildlife habitat. Other wildlife in the county is Columbus monkeys and their related species.

Tourist Class Hotels/Restaurants, Bed Occupancy

Due to the untapped tourism potential in the county, there are no tourist class hotels or restaurants. This is because the available tourism packages are often irregular and the tourists usually visit the county during the day and then go to reside in hotels outside the county. However, there are a number of other unclassified hotels and restaurants in the county (e.g. Hotel Nokras, Fortune Green and Golden Palm hotel).

Facts About Muranga County

 Area (Km 2): 1,798

 Climate: Two seasons of rain; temperatures 21 – 35 degrees C

 Road network:

Tarmac 159 Km

Gravel/Murram 210 Km

Earth Surface 509 Km

Key National Monuments: Forthall Monument, Mukurwe wa Nyagathanga (Considereed the origin of the Kikuyu community)

Muranga County Population

 Population: 942,581

 Male 49%

 Female 51%

 Density: 524 people per Km2

 National Percentage: 2.44%

 Age distribution:

0-14 Years30%

15-64 Years59%

over 65 years11%

Muranga County Government

County capital: Murang’a Town

Number of Constituencies (2010): 7 (Kandara, Kigumo, Maragua, Kangema, Kiharu, Mathioya, Gatanga)

Registered Voters: 427,458

 National percentage of Registered Voters: 3%

 Number of Districts (2009): 2 Muranga North and Muranga South (Maragwa)

 Number of Local Authorities (2010): 5 (Town Councils of Kangema, Maragwa, Kandara, and Makuyu, County Councils of Muranga and Maragwa and Municipal Council of Murang’a)

Law Courts: 2 Law courts in Murang’a South and 2 Law courts in Maragwa

Economy of Muranga County

Resources: Natural (stone quarry and Aberdare Forest)

 Financial services: Banks and Micro Finance Institutions, Decentralised Funds e.g. CDF through Constituencies & LATF

Poverty Level: 29% of population live below the poverty line

Main Economic Activities/industries: 80% of population relies on agriculture, informal sector, tourism and manufacturing

 Main Agricultural products: Coffee, tea, milk, fish, honey, maize and beans

Education in Muranga County

Primary schools 500

Total enrollment196,650

 Enrolment rates:

 Boys 85%

Girls 80%

 Secondaries 106

 Total enrolment 47,691

 Enrolment rates:

 Boys 38%

 Girls 38%

 Tertiary Institutions 12

Include Murang’a Institute of Technology, Murang’a Teachers College

Health in Muranga County

 Hospitals: 3 District Hospitals and 2 Sub District Hospitals

 Number of Doctors: 34

Doctors to Population Ratio: 1:30,000

Muranga County Jobs

Muranga County Jobs opportunities for all qualified personnel and those who would wish to work with Muranga County government. Jobs in Muranga County are posted on the county website.

Jobs in Muranga County are awarded in a free, fair and transparency manner in the need to fight corruption in the country.

To access these Muranga county jobs advertisement click the link: Muranga County Jobs for the latest job opportunities in the county.

Muranga County Tenders

Muranga county tenders are awarded in a free, fair and transparency manner in the need to fight corruption in the country.

To access tenders in Muranga county click the link: for the latest job opportunities in the county.

Muranga County Governor and Deputy Governor

The current governor of Muranga County is Hon. Mwangi Wa Iria and the deputy governor is Hon. Gakure Monyo.

Constituencies in Muranga County

  1. Kangema Constituency
  2. Mathioya Constituency
  3. Kiharu Constituency
  4. Kigumo Constituency
  5. Maragwa Constituency
  6. Kandara Constituency
  7. Gatanga Constituency

Muranga County Wards

Details about Muranga County Wards will be updated soon…

Contact Muranga County

Murang’a County Government
P.O.Box 52-10200


Muranga County Website


Muranga County Map

Muranga County Map

Muranga County Map