Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Kiambu County – All About Kiambu County

Kiambu is an administrative district in the Central Province and borders Nairobi. Although the county is rural, its urban population is increasing as Nairobi grows rapidly.

The main economic activity in the county is agriculture- tea, coffee, dairy, poultry and horticulture. Kiambu’s major urban centers are Thika, Ruiru, Gatundu, Limuru, Kabete, Githunguri, Kiambaa, Kikuyu, Kiambu, Lari and Karuri.

Tourists Attractions in Kiambu County

Chania Falls and Thika Falls: Both falls lie on either side of the iconic Blue Posts Hotel in Thika.

Fourteen Falls

The falls are located about 65 km from Nairobi off the Thika – Garissa Road. The name is from the fourteen successive falls of water along the famous Athi River, originating from the Aberdare mountains. They form the border between Thika and Machakos districts.

How to get there

21 km from Thika town. Take Thika-Garissa road, turn at Makutano Junction. At the base of Fourteen Falls are large boulders with water cascading 25-feet down.

Where to stay

  • Fourteen Falls Lodge
  • Blue Post Hotel.


Boating, fishing, photography, and bird watching. However the water is polluted so water activities are done at your own discretion.


Near the Fourteen Falls lies Kilimambogo, a Swahili word for the Mountain of the Buffalo and home to the late Great philanthropist Sir Macmillan. Half way up the hill, you will find the graves of Sir Macmillan, his wife and their house help. It is on the foot of this hill that Macmillan entertained Theodore Roosevelt, former President of the United States, and Sir Winston Churchill, former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom.

Thika World War Memorial Park

This park along General Kago road is the final resting place of the souls of gallant African Soldiers.

Mama Ngina Gerdens

These gardens along Mama Ngina Drive boast walkways and public lawns for leisure walks and picnics.

Kiambu County

Kiambu County

Facts About Kiambu County

Kiambu County is located in central Kenya, it borders Murang’a county to the North and North East, Machakos county to the East, Nairobi and Kajiado counties to the South, Nakuru county to the West, and Nyandarua county to the North West.

Area (Km 2): 2,543.4 Km 2

Climate/Weather: Temperatures range from a minimum of 12.8°C to a maximum of 24.6°C with an average of 18.7°C. The average rainfall is 989mm per annum.

Road Network: Bitumen Surface (1,358 km), Gravel Surface (682.6 km), Earth Surface (430.1 Km)

Key National Monument(s): None

 Population Kiambu County

Population: 1,623,282 (Male – 49%, Female – 51%)

Population Density: 638 people per km 2

National Percentage:  4.20%

Annual Growth Rate: 2.56

Age Distribution: 0-14 years (34.5 %), 15-64 years (61.9 %), 65+ years (3.6%)

Number of Households: 469,244

Government Kiambu County

County capital:  Kiambu Town (proposed)

Number of Constituencies (2010): 8 (Githunguri, Gatundu North, Gatundu South, Limuru, Lari, Juja, Kiambaa, Kabete)

Registered Voters: 699,303

National percentage: 5.5%

Number of Districts (2009): 11 (Lari, Limuru, Githunguri, Kiambaa (Kiambu East), Kiambu West, Kikuyu, Thika East, Thika West, Ruiru, Gatanga, Gatundu)

Number of Local Authorities (2010): 8 (Municipal councils of Kiambu, Limuru, Thika, and Ruiru, County Councils of Kiambu and Thika, Town Councils of Kikuyu and Karuri)

Economy Kiambu County

Poverty Level: 25% (Kiambu District) and 48% (Thika District)

Age Dependency Ratio: 100: 62

Resources: Arable Land, Forests, Water Falls.

Tourist Attractions: Mau Mau Caves, Paradise Lost, Chania Falls and Fourteen Falls, Mugumo Gardens, Christina Wangare Gardens.

Financial Services: Seven commercial banks, eight micro-finance institutions.

Main Economic Activities/industries: Farming, Food Processing, Manufacturing (Leather), Mining (Carbacid), Textile (Cotton), Motor Vehicle Assembly, Wholesale and Retail trade.

Agricultural products: Pineapples, Tea, Coffee, Wheat, Macadamia Nuts, Poultry, Horticulture, Dairy, Fish.

Education Kiambu County

Number of Institutions (2007): Primary (1,135), Secondary (373)

Primary: Enrolment (291,765)

Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1: 43 (Public Schools)

Secondary: Enrolment (73,831)

Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1:20 (Public Schools)

Tertiary: More than 15

Adult Literacy Classes: Enrolment: Over 9,337 (Central Province)

Health Kiambu County

Health Facilities: District Hospitals (4), Sub-District Hospitals (3), Dispensaries (108), Health Centres (29), Medical Clinics (170), Nursing Homes (9), Maternity Homes (1), Others (22)

Doctor to Population Ratio: 1:25,000 (Kiambu District), 1:21,940 (Thika District)

Infant Mortality Rates: 7/1000 (Kiambu District), 63/1000 (Thika District)

Under Five Mortality Rates: 8/1000 (Kiambu District), 36.7/1000 (Thika District)

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Respiratory Tract Infections, Intestinal Worms, Broncho-pneumonia.

Notable Hospitals: Kiambu District Hospital, Thika District Hospital, Immaculate Heart of Mary Hospital.

Kiambu County Map

Kiambu County Map

Kiambu County Map