Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Ministries in Kenya

Following the inauguration, the President and his Deputy set about head hunting technocrats to make the Cabinet.In forming his Cabinet, President Kenyatta also wrote another chapter in history. For the first time, those he hired for the Cabinet were vetted by MPs. President Kenyatta was bound constitutionally to name a minimum of 14 and a maximum of 22 ministries in Kenya.

While ministers have since Independence been MPs, the new Cabinet Secretaries would have to enjoy strong support from Parliament because a half of the 349 MPs (175) can approve the removal of a Cabinet Secretary.

A Cabinet Secretary can be removed from office because of “gross violation” of the Constitution, committing a crime under national or international law or “gross misconduct”.

Here is a a comprehensive list of all ministries in Kenya, their addresses (postal and physical), contacts (telephone and e-mail) and a link to the ministries website.

List of ministries in Kenya,  and their cabinet secretaries and a link to the ministries website.

  1. Ministry of Information, Communication and TechnologyDr.Fred Okengo Matiani
  2. Ministry of HealthJames Wainaina Macharia
  3. Ministry of Foreign AffairsAmina Mohammed
  4. Ministry of National TreasuryHenry Rotich
  5. Ministry of Industrialization and enterprise DevelopmentMr. Adan Mohammed
  6. Ministry of Devolution and Planning – Miss Ann Waiguru
  7. Ministry of Energy and PetroleumDavis Chirchir
  8. Ministry of Defence – Amb. Rachel Awuor Omamo
  9. Ministry of  Transport and Infrastructure – Eng. Michael S. Kamau
  10. Ministry of  East African Affairs, Commerce and Tourism – Miss Phillis Chepkosgey Kandie
  11. Ministry of Education – Prof Jacob Kaimenyi
  12. Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and FisheriesFelix Kiptarrus Kosgey
  13. Ministry of Environment, Water and Natural Resources – Prof Judy Wakhungu
  14. Ministry of Sports, Culture and Arts – Dr Hassan Wario
  15. Ministry of MiningNajib Balala
  16. Ministry of Lands, Housing and Urban DevelopmentCharity Kaloki Ngilu
  17. Ministry of LabourKazungu Kambi
  18. Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government –  Joseph Ole Lenku

Other important offices.

  1. State House Comptroller – Lawrence Lenayapa
  2. Secretary to the Cabinet – Francis Kimemia

Exiting Articles