Narok County

Narok County is located on the South Rift Valley on the north of Tanzania, it borders six counties with Nakuru to the North, Bomet, Nyamira and Kisii to the North West, Kajiado to the East and Migori to the West.

 Area (Km 2): 17,944

 Climate: temperatures range from minimum of 8 to maximum of 28 degrees centigrade. It has two rainy seasons with average rainfall ranging from 500 to 1,800 mm per annum.

 Road network:

Bitumen Surface 172 Km

Gravel Surface162Km

Earth Surface205.5 Km

Population of Narok County

Population: 850,920



 Density: 47 people per Km2

 National Percentage: 2.2%

 Population Growth Rate: 3.3%

 Age distribution:

0-14 Years53%

15-64 Years45%

over 65 years2%

Government of Narok County

 County capital: Narok Town

Number of Constituencies (2010): 3 (Narok North, Narok South and Kilgoris)

 Registered Voters: 221,286

 National percentage of Registered Voters: 2%

 Number of Districts (2009): 4 (Narok North, Narok South, Transmara East, Transmara West/Dikirr)

 Number of Local Authorities (2010): 3 (Town Council of Narok, County Council of Narok, County Council of Transmara)

Economy of Narok County

 Resources: Natural (Maasai Mara Reserve, Mara River, Arable Land), Financial (CDF, LATF, Collections from Maasai Mara Reserve)

 Financial services: 6 Commercial banks, 8 Micro-Finance Institutions

 Poverty Level: 12% of population live below the poverty line

 Age dependency Ratio: 122.6

Main Economic Activities/industries: Tourism in Maasai Mara, Commercial Farming, Livestock Farming

 Main Agricultural products: Wheat, Barley, Maize, Livestock

 Social and Cultural activities: Maasai Traditional Practice

Education of Narok County

 Pupil to teacher ratio for public schools:33:1

 Primary schools 571

 Total enrollment 175,409

 Enrollment rate

Boys 83%

Girls 73%

Secondaries 61

 Total enrollment 13,852

Enrollment rate

Boys 20%

Girls 15%

Youth Polytechnics 8

 University College 1

Health in Narok County

 Health facilities: Dispensary (84), Health Centres (16), Sub District (1), District (3)

 Doctors to Population Ratio: 1:100,953

 Infant Mortality Rates: 60 per 1,000 (Rift Valley Province)

 Under-Five Mortality Rates: 12 per 1,000 (Rift Valley Province)

 Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, foot and mouth, tryponosomiasis, HIV/Aids

 Notable Hospitals: Narok District Hospital (155 beds) and Transmara District Hospital (32 Beds Capacity)

Other Counties in Kenya
  • Baringo County
  • Bomet County
  • Bungoma County
  • Busia County
  • Elgeyo Marakwet County
  • Embu County
  • Garissa County
  • Homa Bay County
  • Isiolo County
  • Kajiado County
  • Kakamega County
  • Kericho County
  • Kiambu County
  • Kilifi County
  • Kirinyaga County
  • Kisii County
  • Kisumu County
  • Kitui County
  • Kwale County
  • Laikipia County
  • Lamu County
  • Machakos County
  • Makueni County
  • Mandera County
  • Meru County
  • Migori County
  • Marsabit County
  • Mombasa County
  • Muranga County
  • Nairobi County
  • Nakuru County
  • Nandi County
  • Narok County
  • Nyamira County
  • Nyandarua County
  • Nyeri County
  • Samburu County
  • Siaya County
  • Taita Taveta County
  • Tana River County
  • Tharaka Nithi County
  • Trans Nzoia County
  • Turkana County
  • Uasin Gishu County
  • Vihiga County
  • Wajir County
  • West Pokot County

    About Gachie

    Hello, I'm Josphat Gachie, a DIGITAL MEDIA CONSULTANT and the founder of We provide ONLINE MARKETING SOLUTIONS and WEBSITE DESIGN from Ksh10,000. Call me on 0720573178 or Visit our website at