Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Nyandarua County

Nyandarua County is located on the northwestern part of the Central Province, west of the Aberdare Ranges. It is characterised by high horticultural productivity involving the small-scale farms. The bordering counties are Laikipia to the North and North East, Nyeri and Murang’a to the East, Kiambu to the South, and Nakuru to the South West and West.

Nyandarua County has a huge agricultural potential due to the adjacent Aberdare ranges, a rich water tower that supplies the County Rivers throughout the year. The county has had long years of challenges involving the accessibility but the new Dundori-Ol-Kalou-Njabini road has eased the problem.

The road passes through Ndundori, Tumaini, Ol Kalou, Wanjohi and Miharati in Nyandarua Central and Kipipiri districts, passing through Mawingu, Ndunyu Njeru and Engineer in North Kinangop. It connects to the old tarmac road that runs from Fly Over area on the Nairobi-Nakuru Highway at the Njabi-ini Trading Centre in South Kinagop.

Facts About Nyandarua County

Nyandarua County is Located in Central Kenya, it borders the following Counties: Laikipia to the North and North East, Nyeri and Murang’a to the East, Kiambu to the South, and Nakuru to the South West and West.

 Area (Km 2): 3,245.3 Km2

 Climate/Weather: Temperatures range from a minimum of 2°C to a maximum of 25°C. The rainfall ranges between 700mm and 1,500mm per annum

Road Network: Bitumen Surface (297.3 Km), Gravel Surface (323.4 Km), Earth Surface (434.7 Km)

 Key National Monument(s): Aberdare Ranges

 Population of Nyandarua County

 Population: 596,268 (Male – 49 %, Female – 51 %)

Population Density: 184 people per Km2

 National Percentage: 1.54 %

 Annual Growth Rate: 3.3%

 Age Distribution: 0-14 years (43.1 %), 15-64 years (52.5 %), 65+ years (4.4 %)

Number of Households: 143,879

 Government of Nyandarua County

 County Capital: Ol Kalou (Proposed)

Number of Constituencies (2010): 4 (Kinangop, Kipipiri, Ol Kalou, Ndaragwa)

Registered Voters: 239,970

 National percentage: 1.9 %

 Number of Districts (2010): 2 (Nyandarua North, Nyandarua South)

 Number of Local Authorities (2010): 2 (Ol Kalou Town Council and Nyandarua County Council)

 Economy of Nyandarua County

 Poverty Level: 46.3%

 Age Dependency Ratio: 100:91

Resources: Arable Land, Forests, Water, Wildlife

 Tourist Attractions: Eco-tourism, Waterfalls, Lake Ol Bolossat, Aberdare Ranges

 Financial Services: 4 Commercial Banks, 4 Micro-Finance Institutions

 Main Economic Activities/industries: Livestock Keeping, Agro-Processing, Commercial businesses

 Agricultural products: Maize, Beans, Potatoes, Cabbages, Peas, Dairy Products, Fruits

 Education in Nyandarua County

 Number of Institutions (2007): Primary (471), Secondary (149)

 Primary: Enrolment (149,204)

Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1: 42 (Public Schools)

 Secondary: Enrolment (25,758)

 Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1:22 (Public Schools)

 Tertiary: Over 10 (Teacher Training College, Technical Colleges, and Several Commercial Colleges)

 Adult Literacy Classes: Enrolment (Data Not Available)

 Health in Nyandarua County

 Health Facilities: 114 – District Hospitals (1), Sub-District Hospitals (1), Dispensaries (55), Health Centres (8), Medical Clinics (42), Nursing Homes (1), VCT Centres (1), Others (5)

Doctor to Population Ratio: 1:10,000

Infant Mortality Rates: 45/1000

Under Five Mortality Rates: 42/1000

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Respiratory Tract Infections, Skin Diseases

 Notable Hospitals: Nyahururu District, Ol Kalou Sub-District hospitals

Contact Nyandarua County

Official Address:

County Goverment Of Nyandarua
P.O BOX 701-20303,OL’ KALOU

Telephone: +254202660859
Telefax:+25420 266 0859

Email: [email protected]

Other Counties in Kenya