Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Dedan Kimathi University of Technology Courses, Application, Intake, Fees and Contacts

Dedan Kimathi University of Technology started as a community project in 1972 then known as Kimathi Institute of Technology (KIT), opening doors to its first students in 1978. KIT rapidly emerged as a leading institution in the country in the training of Certified Public Accountants. It was upgraded to University status in 2007, and renamed Kimathi University College of Technology ( KUCT), a constituent college of Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology .

This institution operated as a constituent college for five years until 14th December, 2012 when it was upgraded to full university status after being granted a charter and renamed Dedan Kimathi University of Technology (DKUT). The grand ceremony of granting the charter was presided over by the president of the republic of Kenya, His Excellency Mwai Kibaki. The Government appointed renowned educationist, scholar and education administrator Prof. S.O Keya as the first Chancellor. In addition the Government appointed a University Council composed of people with diverse experiences in various fields.

The chairman of the Council is Dr.Dulacha Galgallo Barako. Other members are Eng. John Kisenga, Mrs. Mercy Mwatua, Mr.Justus Mutiga, Mrs. Sophia Yiega, Mr. Irshad Ibrahim, The Vice Chancellor, Prof. P. N. Kioni, The Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance, and The Permanent Secretary – Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology.

DeKUT is already implementing an ambitious physical facilities development programme to support the realization of her Vision and Mission. The University has in place a magnificient Resource Centre, which is a multi-purpose facility whose two phases are complete now. It comprises Lecture theatres, Library, Laborotaries and offices for both administrative and academic staff. In line with her vision of being a Premier Technology University excelling in Quality Education, Research and Technology transfer, DKUT has put up expansive and well equipped Engineering workshops and supporting Physics and Chemistry laboratories.

Subsequent phases of development comprise two academic blocks, one to house ICT labs and lecture rooms . In addition, the university has constructed a spacious and magnificent dining facility and diverse sporting fields for her students.The management of DeKUT envisages that this institution will emerge as a unique technological University with a major impact on national development when it implements most of her development plans embedded in her vision whose blueprint is vision 2030.

The University offers a wide range of programmes both at the undergraduate and postgraduate level in various Schools and Institutes. These include:Computer Science and Information Technology, Engineering, Applied Sciences, Food Science and Technology, Health Science, Business Management and Economics, Geothermal Energy Technology, Geomatics, Geospatial Information Systems and Remote Sensing, Tourism and Hospitality and Technical and Professional Studies. The University also offers diploma and Certificate courses for mid-level technical skills. The programmes offered by the University are approved by the Senate and the various designated bodies like Engineers Board of Kenya (CBK) and Commission for University Education (CUE) that was established by the government of Kenya through the Commission for University Education Act, 2010.

Dedan Kimathi University Courses: A comprehensive list of all diploma, degree, masters and Phd courses offered at Dedan Kimathi University including application form, intake, admission letter, course registration, fees structure and contacts

Dedan Kimathi University Postgraduate Programmes

Category: Dedan Kimathi University Courses Offered

  1. Master in Business Administration and Management
  2. Master in Science in Supply Chain Management
  3. Master in Economics
  4. PhD in Business Administration
  5. Master in Industrial Engineering and Management
  6. Master in Advanced Manufacturing and Automation Engineering
  7. Geothermal Energy Training & Research Institute
  8. Master of Science in Industrial Mathematics
  9. Master of Science Food Science Technology
  10. Master of Science in Leather Technology

Dedan Kimathi University Undergraduate Programmes

Category: Dedan Kimathi University Courses Offered

  1. Bachelor of Commerce
  2. Bachelor of Purchasing Supplies and Management
  3. Bachelor of Business Administration and Management
  4. Bachelor of Science in Criminology and Security Management
  5. Bachelor of Science in Information Technology
  6. Bachelor of Science in Computer Science
  7. Bachelor in Business Information Technology
  8. Bachelor of Science Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  9. Bachelor of Science Mechatronic Engineering
  10. Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering
  11. Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering
  12. Bachelor of Science in Geospatic Information Science and Remote Sensing
  13. Bachelor of Science in Food Science and Technology
  14. Bachelor of Science in Nursing (Direct)
  15. Bachelor of Science in Nursing (Upgrading)
  16. Bachelor of Sustainable Tourism and Hospitality Management
  17. Bachelor of Science in Industrial Chemistry
  18. Bachelor of Science in Leather Technology
  19. Bachelor of Science in Actuarial Science
  20. Bachelor of Science in Geological Sciences and Technology
  21. Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering
  22. Bachelor of Science in Geomatics and Geospatial Information Systems
  23. Bachelor of Science in Animal Production
  24. Bachelor of Science in Food Nutrition and Dietetics
  25. Bachelor of Education in Technology (Mechanical Engineering)
  26. Bachelor of Education in Technology (Electrical and Electronics Engineering)
  27. Bachelor of Education in Technology (Civil Engineering)

Dedan Kimathi University Certificate/Diploma Programmes

Category: Dedan Kimathi University Courses Offered

  1. Diploma in Business Administration
  2. Diploma in Information Technology
  3. Diploma in Coffee Technology and Cupping
  4. Diploma in Sustainable Tourism & Hospitality Management
  5. Diploma in Building Technology
  6. Diploma In Fashion Design and Interior Decoration
  7. Diploma in Metal Work and Welding Design
  8. Diploma in Furniture Technology and Interior Design
  9. Certificate in Information Technology
  10. Certificate in Coffee Technology and Cupping
  11. Certificate in County Governance
  12. Bridging in Mathematics, Bridging in Physics, Bridging in Chemistry
  13. CISCO
  14. ATD
  15. CPA
  16. Associate in Procurement and Supply (APSK)
  17. Certified Procurement and Supply Professional of Kenya (CPSP-K)

Dedan Kimathi University Contacts

Nyeri  (Main Campus)         
P.o Box 657 – 10100 – Nyeri, Kenya
Telephone: +254 061 2050000
Enquiries: 0713835965
Cell Phone: 0736456391 OR 0708 801853

Nairobi Campus
Nairobi CBD Center, Union Towers
10th Floor Moi Avenue
(Junction of Moi avenue & Mama Ngina Street)
Cell: 0710127516

Join us at Softkenya Group where we share our best Quotes, Stories, Poems, Excerpts, Sermons, Messages, Personal Experiences and Useful guides... The SOFTKENYA COMMUNITY --- Join us Here: