Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Meru University Courses – Meru University of Science and Technology Courses

To quickly find what you are looking for, use the search facility below.

Meru University Courses

Meru University Courses: Meru University of Science and Technology (MUST) was established by the Kenya Government under Legal Notice No. 103 of 18th July 2008 as a constituent college of Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology.

The idea of establishing a University goes back many years to the time when Njuri Ncheke (Council of elders of Meru people) conceived an idea of establishing an institution of higher learning in Meru. Consequently, the NJURI NCHEKE ELDERS set aside 641 acres of land near the Njuri Ncheke’s Shrine at Nchiru for the same. In the mid-1960s, the elders initiated the process of establishing an institution of higher learning. It was decided that the Meru community raise funds for establishment of a College of Technology. As a result, Meru College of Technology (MECOTECH) was founded and opened its doors to its first batch of students in 1983 with an intake of fifty four (54) students all of whom were enrolled in Agriculture. In 1985 Motor Vehicle Engineering and later in 1987 building courses were introduced. MECOTECH offered diploma and certificate courses in automotive engineering, agriculture and extension, information technology, accounting, electrical engineering, building and masonry and business administration, among others.

Meru University of Science and Technology had its first intake in May 2009, admitting forty five (45) students in three (3) degree programmes: Bachelor of Commerce (B-COM), Bachelor of Business Information Technology (BBIT), and Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (Bsc. IT). The institution has since grown to offer four (4) Masters programmes, thirteen (13) Degree programmes, eight (8) Diploma and five (5) Certificate programmes.

MUCST was formally launched by His Excellency Hon. Mwai Kibaki C.G.H., M.P., President and Commander-In-Chief of the armed forces of the Republic of Kenya on Saturday 17th April, 2010

The objective of the Meru University is to play a leading role in the development and expansion of opportunities for higher education and research in Agriculture, Forestry, Mining, Energy, Water and Environmental Science and arid and semi-arid lands. The University aims at becoming a regional leader in the discovery, preservation and dissemination of knowledge in the area of Science and technology and related disciplines.

Meru University Courses Offered

Meru University Diploma Courses

  1. Agriculture
  2. Agriculture Education & Extension
  3. Building & Construction
  4. Business Administration
  5. Business Information Technology
  6. Civil Engineering
  7. Community development & Project
  8. Management
  9. Electrical Engineering
  10. Electronic Engineering
  11. Entrepreneurship
  12. Human Resource management
  13. Information Technology
  14. Mechanical Engineering
  15. Mechatronics Engineering

Meru University Courses: Undergraduate Degree Courses

  1. Bachelor of Science (Actuarial Science)
  2. Bachelor of Science in Computer Science
  3. Bsc (Science)
  4. Bachelor of Science (Agriculture)
  5. Bachelor of Science (Food Science and Technology)
  6. Bachelor of Science (Nursing)
  7. Bachelor of Commerce (B.Com)
  8. Bachelor of Education (Science)
  9. Bachelor of Science in Economics
  10. Bachelor of Science in Information Science
  11. Bachelor of Business Administration
  12. Bachelor of Science Statistics
  13. Bachelor of Science Horticulture
  14. Bachelor of Science Agribusiness Management
  15. Bachelor of Science (Food Science and Nutrition)
  16. Bachelor of Science in Computer Technology
  17. Bachelor of Science in Information Technology
  18. Bachelor of Business Information Technology
  19. Bachelor of Purchasing and Supplies Management
  20. Bachelor of Science (Animal Health and Production)
  21. Bachelor of Science (Mathematics & Computer Science)
  22. Bachelor of Science (Human Nutrition and Dietetics)
  23. Bachelor of Science Agricultural Extension and Education
  24. Bachelor of Science (Crop Protection)
  25. Bachelor of Science (Community Health & Development)
  26. Bachelor of Co-Operative Management
  27. Bachelor of Science in Computer Security and Forensics
  28. Bachelor of Technology in Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  29. Bachelor of Technology in Civil Engineering
  30. Bachelor of Technology in Mechanical Engineering
  31. Bachelor of Science (Health Records and Mgt.)
  32. Bachelor of Science (Clinical Medicine and Community Health)
  33. Bachelor of Science (Food Science and Management)
  34. Bachelor of Science in Health Systems Management
  35. Bachelor of Science (Public Health)

Meru University Courses: Postgraduate Diploma Course

  1. Agriculture and Environment

    Meru University Courses

    Meru University Courses

  2. Science, Actuarial Science
  3. Science, Agribusiness
  4. Science, Agriculture
  5. Science, Community Health & Development
  6. Science, Crop Protection
  7. Science, Food Science & Nutrition
  8. Science, Food Science & Technology
  9. Science, Horticulture
  10. Science In Statisitics
  11. Science, Mathematics & Statistics
  12. Science, Public Health

Meru University: Postgraduate Diploma

  1. Applied Science In Statisitcs

Meru University: Master Courses

  1. Business Administration
  2. Science, Applied Mathematics
  3. Science, Entrepreneurship
  4. Science, Statistic

Meru University Contact

Meru University of Science and Technology

Along Meru-Maua Highway

Box 972 – 60200 Meru, Kenya

Tel: 064-30320, 061-2309217, +254 712524293

Wireless: 02O-2069349, 2092048




Kenya Business Directory Categories