Camp Mulla Biography

Camp Mulla is a Kenyan group that incorperates hip hop and RnB and is composed of Taio Tripper, Young Kass,  K’Cous ,Miss.Karun, and Mykie Tuchi.

Camp Mulla Members

  • Karun (born Karungari Mungai; formerly Miss Karun) – Lead vocalist, songwriter
  • Kus Ma (born Marcus Kibukosya; formerly K’Cous) – Record producer, songwriter, rapper
  • Shappaman (born Benoît Kanema; formerly Young Ka$$) – Record producer, rapper, songwriter
  • Thee MC Africa (born Matthew Wakhungu; formerly Taio Tripper) – Rapper, vocalist, lyricist
  • Mykie Toni (born Michael Mutooni) – Manager

First Appearance to the public arena

Camp Mulla got their first public appearance on 12 February 2011 at Collo’s Valentine’s Day concert, where he was to reveal the music video for his new song, Chini ya Maji. At the same time he was to introduce Camp Mulla in public to perform for the first time.

Camp Mulla was the opening act for Nigerian R&B duo P-Square at a live performance at The Carnivore on 26 February 2011.Camp Mulla also opened for Nigerian acts at Naija 9te (or Naija Nite), including Naeto C and Flavour in October 2011. They have also recently made huge appearances at hip hop events, school concerts and award-shows such as the Nadia Favre.

The group were billed to perform at the Big Brother Africa 7 opening ceremony alongside J. Cole, Davido, Aemo E’Face, P-Square, Naeto C and Flavour on 6 May 2012, but were not able due to delays in their travelling documentation. However, they performed on the show’s first eviction show on 13 May 2012. Camp Mulla also performed at the grand finale of the fifth season of Tusker Project Fame in 2012


  • Party Don’t Stop
  • Feel No Pain
  • Fresh All Day
  • Hold It Down
  • Walking On a Dream
  • Addicted

Camp Mulla Awards and Nominations


  • Best International Act, BEFFTA Awards
  • Best International Act,(Africa) BET Awards
  • Best Newcomer Video (Party Don’t Stop),Channel O Music Video Awards
  • Best Duo,Group or Featuring Video(Fresh all Day)Channel O Music Video Awards
  • Best East African Video(Party Don’t Stop)Channel O Music Video Awards
  • video of the Year(Fresh All Day)Channel O Music Video Awards
  • African Artist of the Year, The Headies
  • Best African Group,Kora Awards
  • Best African Act,MOBO Awards
  • Best African Act, MTV Europe Music Awards


  • Teeniez’ Group or Collabo(Party Don’t Stop),Chaguo La Teeniez Awards
  • Teeniez’ Nu Artist,Chaguo La Teeniez Awards

Camp Mulla Facebook and Twitter


Camp Mulla
Camp Mulla