Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Ministry of Devolution and Planning in Kenya

A comprehensive guide to the Ministry of Devolution and Planning in Kenya, their addresses (postal and physical), contacts (telephone and e-mail) and a link to the ministries website.

Ministry of Devolution and Planning

The full details of the mandate of the Ministry of Devolution and Planning are as outlined in the “Executive order No. 1 of April 2013” and detailed in the “Executive Order No. 2 of May 2013” and broadly covers issues of economic planning and development, devolution, public service management, youth, gender and special programmes. In addition the mandate includes the functions of the twenty six affiliated parastatals, Semi-Autonomous Government Agencies, Commissions and Independent Offices.

The Ministry of Devolution and Planning in Kenya

This newly structured Ministry is the second of two Ministries in the Presidency. It encompasses four large areas of focus that are critical to the Constitutional mandate and policy priorities of the Administration hence placement at the Presidency.
The areas of focus are categorized in three broad spheres.

A. Devolution:
Covers devolution, intergovernmental relations and capacity building at the Counties.

B. Planning
Covers the functions of the former Ministry of planning that includes national development planning and economic policy management

C. Office of Management and Budget.
The office will develop and maintain effective government through budget prioritization and policy direction. It will also be reviewing organizational structure and management procedures in the Executive branch. This unit will deal with human resource management and public sector reform to ensure that intended results are achieved.

Join us at Softkenya Group where we share our best News, Quotes, Stories, Poems, Excerpts, Sermons, Messages, Personal Experiences and Useful guides... The SOFTKENYA COMMUNITY --- Join us Here:
  1. Coordination of targeted Policy priority areas and Initiatives.
    These are large policy areas that are key to the Administration and have constitutional imperatives:
  • Gender policy and mainstreaming,
  • Youth policy and mainstreaming,
  • Special interest groups (marginalised; disabled) policies,
  • Special areas including arid and pastoralists lands,
  • Special programmes and initiatives, and
  • National cohesion and integration

Functions of the Ministry of Devolution and Planning

  • Capacity Building and Technical Assistance to Counties
  • Career Design and Development
  • Co-ordination ofCDF
  • Co-ordination of Inter-Governmental Relations and Devolution
  • Coordination of Youth,Gender and Special Interests
  • Economic Commission for Africa
  • Emergencies and Disasters Management
  • Family Protection
  • Food Relief Management
  • Gender Mainstreaming
  • Gender Policy Management
  • Human Resource Management and Development
  • IDP Policy
  • Implementation of Special Programmes and Initiatives
  • Inter-Governmental Relations
  • Inter-Governmental Summit
  • Kenya National Youth Policy
  • Management of Devolution Affairs
  • Monitoring and Evaluation of Economic Trends
  • National Census and Housing
  • National Development Planning
  • National Economic and Social Advisory
  • National Statistics Management Land Development Policy
  • Ofice of Management Monitoring
  • Organisational Design and Development
  • Population Policy Management
  • Promotion of Equitable Social Economic Development between Men and Women
  • Public Beneits Organisation (NGOs) Co-ordination and Management
  • Public Sector Transformation including Operational Standards and Process Engineering
  • Public Service Reform and PerformanceManagement
  • Research, Development and ServiceDelivery Innovations
  • Shared Services
  • Training andCapacity Building
  • Youth Employment Policy
  • Youth Mainstreaming in National Development

Institutions under the Ministry of Devolution and Planning

  • Community Development Trust Fund
  • Constituency Development Fund Board
  • Drought Management Authority
  • Eficiency Monitoring Unit
  • Humanitarian Mitigation and Resettlement Fund
  • Kenya National Bureau of Statistics
  • Kenya School of Government
  • National Co-ordinating Agency for Population and Development
  • National Economic and Social Council
  • National Planning Authority
  • PerformanceContracting
  • Vision 2030 Board

Constitutional Commissions & Independent Offices under the Ministry of Devolution and Planning

  • Kenya Association of Youth Centres
  • KenyaNational Youth Council
  • National Youth Service
  • NGO Board
  • NGO Co-ordination Bureau
  • Public Benefit Organisations
  • Public Service Commission
  • Transition Authority
  • Women Enterprise Fund
  • Youth Enterprise Development Fund

Ministry of Devolution and Planning Contacts

The Presidency
Ministry of Devolution and Planning
Postal Address: P. O. Box 30005 – 00100
Town/City: Nairobi, Kenya
Telephone: 2252299
Fax: 2218475

Ministry of Devolution and Planning in Kenya

Ministry of Devolution and Planning in Kenya

Ministry of Devolution and Planning in Kenya Video