Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Ministry of Finance – The National Treasury of Kenya

Ministry of Finance Kenya – The National Treasury in Kenya

The National Treasury derives its mandate from the Constitution 2010, the Public Management Act 2012 and the Executive order No. 2/2013. The National Treasury will be executing its mandate in consistency with any other legislation as may be developed or reviewed by Parliament from time to time.

Mandate of the National Treasury

The core functions of the National Treasury as derived from the above legal provisions include;

  • Formulate, implement and monitor macro-economic policies involving expenditure and revenue.
  •  Manage the level and composition of national public debt, national guarantees and other financial obligations of national government.
  • Formulate, evaluate and promote economic and financial policies that facilitate social and economic development in conjunction with other national government entities.
  •  Mobilize domestic and external resources for financing national and county government budgetary requirements.
  • Design and prescribe an efficient financial management system for the national and county governments to ensure transparent financial management and standard financial reporting.
  • In consultation with the Accounting Standards Board, ensure that uniform accounting standards are applied by the national government and its entities.
  • Develop policy for the establishment, management, operation and winding up of public funds.
  • Prepare the annual Division of Revenue Bill and the County Allocation of Revenue Bill.
  • Strengthen financial and fiscal relations between the national government and county governments and encourage support for county governments.
  • Assist county governments to develop their capacity for efficient, effective and transparent financial management.
  • To prepare the National Budget, execute/implement and control approved budgetary resources to MDAs and other Government agencies/entities.
  • Anti-Money Laundering
  • Bilateral and Multilateral Financial Relations
  • Competition Policy Management
  • Custodian of National Government Assets and Property
  • Design and Prescription of National and County Government Financial Management System and Standards
  • Development of Kenya as an International Finance Centre
  • Economic Policy Analysis andManagement
  • Financial and Economic Affairs
  • Financial Institutions Oversight
  • Financial Sector Analysis and Management
  • Insurance Policy and Regulation
  • Management of Public Procurement and Disposal
  • National Employment Policy Management
  • National Pensions Policy Management
  • Preparation of National Budget and Management of Governments Finances
  • Promotion of Economic and Financial Governance
  • Public Debt Management
  • Public Finance Management
  • Public Investment Policy Management
  • Public Investments Oversight
  • Public Resources Mobilization

 Role of the National Treasury in the Devolved System of Government

The National Treasury is mandated by law to:

  • Strengthen financial and fiscal relations between the National Government and County Governments and encourage support for county governments in performing their functions.
  • Assist county governments to develop their capacity for efficient, effective and transparent financial management.
  • Prepare the annual Division of Revenue Bill and the County Allocation of Revenue Bill.
  • Provide logistical support to intergovernmental institutions overseeing intergovernmental fiscal relations.
  • Coordinate the development and implementation of financial recovery plans for county governments that are in financial distress.
  • Coordinate capacity building of County Governments on public finance management matters.

Institutions under the National Treasury – Ministry of Finance

  • Agricultural Finance Corporation
  • Capital Markets Authority
  • CBK Board
  • Central Bank of Kenya
  • Consolidated Bank of Kenya
  • Deposit Protection Fund Board
  • Industrial Development Bank
  • Insurance Regulatory Authority
  • Kenya Competition Authority
  • Kenya Institute of Supplies Management
  • Kenya National Assurance Co.
  • Kenya Post Office Savings Bank
  • Kenya Reinsurance Corporation
  • Kenya Revenue Authority
  • Kenya Trade Network Agency
  • Local Authorities Provident Fund
  • National Bank of Kenya
  • Policy Holders Compensation Fund
  • Privatization Commission
  • Public Enterprises (shareholding)
  • Public Procurement Oversight Authority
  • Public Sector Accounting Standards Board
  • Retirement Beneits Authority

The National Treasury Kenya – Ministry of Finance: Constitutional Commissions/Offices

  • Anti-money Laundering Authority
  • Auditor-General
  • Commission on Revenue Allocation
  • Controller of Budget
  • Financial Reporting Centre
  • Salaries & Remuneration Commission

Vision of the National Treasury

To be an Institution of excellence in economic and public financial management

Mission of the National Treasury

To promote economic transformation for shared growth through formulation, implementation and monitoring of prudent economic and financial policy at National and County levels of Government.
The mission is to be realized through the following seven core values: customer focus; result oriented; stakeholder participation; professionalism; accountability; transparency and integrity; team work and commitment; recognition of staff as key asset; and equity, fairness and inclusion.

Join us at Softkenya Group where we share our best News, Quotes, Stories, Poems, Excerpts, Sermons, Messages, Personal Experiences and Useful guides... The SOFTKENYA COMMUNITY --- Join us Here:

Cabinet Secretary The National Treasury – Henry Rotich, EGH

Mr. Henry K. Rotich is currently the Cabinet Secretary for the National Treasury in Kenya. He assumed the position in May 2013 following the successful general election under the new Constitutional dispensation.

Principal Secretary Dr Kamau Thugge, CBS

Dr. Kamau Thugge is currently the Principal Secretary at the National Treasury.

National Treasury Kenya

National Treasury Kenya

Former Finance Ministers – Ministry of Finance Kenya – The National Treasury

Hon. Robinson Njeru Githae
Tenure: 2012 – 2013

Hon. Uhuru Kenyatta
Tenure: 2009 – 2012

Hon. John Michuki
Tenure: 2008 – 2009

Hon. Amos Kimunya
Tenure: 2006 – 2008

Hon. Francis Masakhalia
Tenure: 2006 – 2006

Hon.David Mwiraria
Tenure: 2003 – 2006

Hon. Christopher Obure
Tenure: 2001 – 2002

Hon. Chris Okemo
Tenure: 1999 – 2001

Hon. Simeon Nyachae
Tenure: 1998 – 1999

Hon. Musalia Mudavadi
Tenure: 1993 – 1997

Hon. George Saitoti
Tenure: 1988 – 1992

Hon. Arthur Magugu
Tenure: 1981 – 1988

Hon. Mwai Kibaki
Tenure: 1969 – 1981

Hon. James Gichuru
Tenure: 1965 – 1969

The National Treasury in Kenya Contacts

The National Treasury
Treasury Building, Harambee Avenue
P.O Box 30007-00100
Tel. +254 20 2252299

For enquiries email the following addresses:-


General Enquiries

Tel: 0771 448232

Ministry of Finance – The National Treasury in Kenya Video