Kitui County Overview

Kitui County is located 170Km to the South East of the capital Nairobi. It covers an area of about 30,496 km2. It borders Machakos County and Makueni County to the West, Tana River County to the East, Taita-Taveta County to the South, and Embu County and Tharaka- Nithi County to the North. It is about two and half hours’ drive from Nairobi and 30 minutes flight by a chopper.

The Kitui Vision for Economic and Social Transformation

The County Government of Kitui developed this long-term development blue print, “Kitui Vision for economic and social transformation” aimed at guiding its economic and social development for the next ten years up to the year 2025. The envisaged County long-term development blue print covers the economic and investment zones which were endorsed by stakeholders in November 2013. These economic and investment zones include:

  1. Kyuso-Mumoni-Tseikuru Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)
  2. Mui Basin Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)
  3. Mwingi Town and Environs Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)
  4. Kitui County Headquarters and Environs Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)
  5. Kanyangi-Kwa Vonza-Kanyonyoo Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)
  6. Mutomo-Ikutha-Kanziko Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)


Climate/Weather: Temperatures range from a minimum of 14°C to a maximum of 34°C. The rainfall ranges from 500mm to 1050mm per annum in different parts of the county.

 Road Network: Bitumen Surface (Data Not Available), Gravel Surface (399.2 Km), Earth Surface (1072.2 Km)

 Key National Monument(s): Tsavo East National Park, Mwingi National Reserve

Kitui County Population

 Population: 1,012,709 (Male – 48 %, Female – 52 %)

Population Density: 33 people per Km 2

National Percentage: 2.6 %

 Annual Growth Rate: 2.2%

Age Distribution: 0-14 years (46.6 %), 15-64 years (48.2 %), 65+ years (5.2 %)

 Number of Households: 205,491

Kitui County Government

 County Capital: Kitui Town

 Number of Constituencies (2010): 6 (Mwingi North, Mwingi South, Kitui West, Kitui Central, Mutito, Kitui South)

 Registered Voters: 321,800

 National percentage: 2.6 %

 Number of Districts (2010): 4 (Kitui, Mutomo, Mwingi, Kyuso)

 Number of Local Authorities (2010): 4 (Municipal Council of Kitui, County Council of Kitui, Town Council of Mwingi, and County Council of Mwingi)

 Economy of Kitui County

 Poverty Level: 63%

 Age Dependency Ratio: 100:108

Resources: Arable Land, Wildlife, Livestock, Forests, Minerals

 Tourist Attractions: Mwingi National Reserve, Tsavo East National Park

 Financial Services: 4 Commercial Banks, 8 Micro-Finance

 Main Economic Activities/industries: Livestock keeping, Tobacco, Cotton, Coffee, Mangoes, Commercial businesses

 Agricultural products: Livestock Products, Maize, Beans, Sorghum, Pigeon Peas, Cowpeas, Cassava, Millet

 Education in Kitui County

 Number of Institutions (2007): Primary (1,096), Secondary (181)

 Primary: Enrolment (328,528)

Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1: 41 (Public Schools)

 Secondary: Enrolment (46,100)

 Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1:34 (Public Schools)

 Tertiary: Over 60 (Comprised of University Satellite Campuses, Youth Polytechnics, Teacher Training Colleges, Medical Training College, Technical Colleges, and Several Commercial Colleges)

Adult Literacy Classes: Enrolment (Over 3,500)

 Health in Kitui County

 Health Facilities: 261 – District Hospitals (3), Sub-District Hospitals (8), Dispensaries (189), Health Centres (23), Medical Clinics (30), Nursing Homes (5), Others (3)

 Doctor to Population Ratio: 1:16,047 (Kitui District), 1:50,701 (Mwingi District)

Business in Kitui County

The vast majority of the economy is based on sustenance farming, despite the fact that the agriculture is an extremely challenging endeavor giving the sporadic rainfall. A logical move therefore would be a transition to non-agricultural industries.

During a recent, informal survey of the businesses in the town of Ikutha in southern Kitui County, the following businesses were identified:

  1. Butcheries
  2. Food Staples (rice, corn meal)
  3. Mini-markets (sells things like Coca-cola, potatoes chips, bread, long-shelf milk)
  4. Mechanics
  5. Pubs
  6. Hotel and restaurant

Industries in Kitui

Situated in Kitui town is a cotton ginnery where cotton farmers from around the county can deliver their harvest. It is the only major industry in the region, and was set up way back in 1935. Kitui is a semi-arid region and not many crops fare well there apart from cotton, hence the ginnery plays a major role creating income for the many cotton farmers in the region.

Tourist Attractions in Kitui County

The various tourist attractions include: Nzambani rock, Ikoo Valley, a Wildlife Conservancy at Kanyoonyoo, a Reptile Park at Mutomo Hills Plant Sanctuary, Mutitu and Mumoni bird watching sites, and Mwingi and South Kitui Game Reserves

Tsavo East National Park

Category: Tourist Attractions in Kitui County

Tsavo East, lies to the east of the Nairobi –Mombasa road, equidistant between Nairobi and Mombasa, and offers a vast and untapped arena of arid bush.

For more information visit: Tsavo East National Park

South Kitui National Reserve

Category: Tourist Attractions in Kitui County

It was inaugurated in 1979 with an area of 1833km. It comprises of thickets, grasslands and acacia savannah.It is a wildlife dispersal area for Tsavo National Park and is well known for the animals that relocate to and from Tsavo National Park.

For more information Visit: South Kitui National Park

Mwingi National Reserve

Category: Tourist Attractions in Kitui County

The Mwingi National Reserve is one of the four protected and contiguous areas that comprise the 4,400 square km Meru Conservational Area (MCA). The other three are Meru National Park, Bisanadi National Reserve and Kora National Park.

For more information Visit: Mwingi National Reserve

Tourist Class Hotels/Restaurants in Kitui County

  • Kitui Cottages & Guest House
  • Ideal Palace Hotel
  • Legacy Hotel
  • Kitui Parkside Villa
  • Talents Guest House
  • Kitui Intercounty Hotel
  • Mwingi Cottages

Kitui County Tenders

Kitui county tenders are awarded in a free, fair and transparency manner in the need to fight corruption in the country.

To access tenders in Kitui county click the link: for the latest job opportunities in the county.

Kitui County Jobs

Kitui County Jobs opportunities for all qualified personnel and those who would wish to work with Kitui County government. Jobs in Kitui County are posted on the county website.

Jobs in Kitui County are awarded in a free, fair and transparency manner in the need to fight corruption in the country.

To access these Kitui county jobs advertisement click the link: Kitui County Jobs for the latest job opportunities in the county.

Kitui County Governor and Deputy Governor

The current governor of Kitui County is Hon. Julius Makau Malombe and the deputy governor is Hon. Peninah Malonza.

Constituencies in Kitui County

  1. Mwingi North Constituency
  2. BMwingi Central Constituency
  3. Mwingi South Constituency
  4. Kitui West Constituency
  5. Kitui Rural Constituency
  6. Kitui Town Constituency
  7. Mutito Constituency
  8. Kitui South Constituency

Kitui County Wards

Details about Kitui County Wards will be updated soon…

Kitui County Contacts

County Government of Kitui
Tana Athi Water Services Board Building, Ground Floor
Postal Address: P.O. Box 33 – 90200,
Town: Kitui
Telephone: 0702 615 888, 0702 615 444, 0731 717 100

Kitui County Website

Kitui County Map

Kitui County Map
Kitui County Map

Kitui County Video