Mandera County Overview

Mandera County is located in the North Eastern region of Kenya. It borders Ethiopia to the North, Somalia Republic to the East, and Wajir County to the South and South West.  The county covers an area of 25,797.70 Km2 and has a population of 1,025, 756. Its headquarters are located in Mandera Town. It is about 1,100km from the capital city of Nairobi by road.

 Climate/Weather: Rainfall is scanty and unpredictable averaging 255mm. It is very hot with temperatures at a mean annual average of 28.3 0C but can reach a high of 37 0C.

 Road Network: Bitumen Surface (Not Available), Gravel Surface (470 Km), Earth Surface (2,083Km)

 Key National Monument(s): None

Economic Activities in Mandera County

Nomadic pastoralism is the major economic activity in the in the county with camels,goats,sheeps and cattle being the main type of livestock reared. The region vast pasture land has allowed this activity to be viable.

The main water sources in the region are river Daua a number of shallow wells and few major earth pans. The region has small scale agriculture production with small scale horticulture producers supplying Mangoes, pawpaw, onions, kales and Banana to the local market.

Transport in Mandera County

The County is accessible by road and air. It has an airstrip with airplanes going to Mandera town from the Wilson Airport four days a week; Sunday, Monday, Thursday and Friday. It’s a two hour flight with small business air craft carrying 30 to 50 passengers.

Mandera County Population

Population: 1,025,756 (Male – 54.6 %, Female – 45.4 %)

Population Density: 39 people per Km 2

 National Percentage: 2.7 %

 Annual Growth Rate: 3.96 %

 Age Distribution: 0-14 years (53.7 %), 15-64 years (44.4 %), 65+ years (1.9 %)

 Number of Households: 125,497

County Government of Mandera

 County Capital: Mandera Town

 Number of Constituencies (2010): 3 (Mandera East, Mandera Central and Mandera West)

 Registered Voters: 76,213

 National percentage: 0.6 %

 Number of Districts (2009): 4 (Mandera North, East, West and Central)

 Number of Local Authorities (2010): 2 (Town Council of Mandera, County Council of Mandera)

Economy of Mandera County

Poverty Level: 68 % (Absolute poverty – Rural & Urban)

 Age Dependency Ratio: 100:110

 Resources: Quarry Mining

 Tourist Attractions: Malka Mari Fort, National Park, and Game Reserve

 Financial Services: 2 Commercial Banks

 Main Economic Activities/industries: Livestock trade and pastoralism, trade in handcraft products

Education in Mandera County

 Number of Institutions (2007): Primary (117), Secondary (19)

 Primary: Enrolment (40,148)

 Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1:68 (Public Schools)

Secondary: Enrolment (2,747)

 Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1:24 (Public Schools)

 Tertiary: Mandera Youth Polytechnic

 Adult Literacy Classes: 135 Enrolment (3,465)

Health in Mandera County

 Health Facilities: District Hospitals (3), Sub-District Hospitals (2), Dispensaries (24), Health Centres (12), Medical Clinics (20), Nursing Homes (4)

Doctor to Population Ratio: 1:308,878

 Infant Mortality Rates: 72/1000

 Under Five Mortality Rates: 128/1000

 Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Urinary Tract Infections Pneumonia and HIV/AIDs

 Notable Hospitals: Takaba, Elwak, and Mandera District Hospitals

Tourism and Tourists Attractions in Mandera County

Mandera County is located at the northern most corner of Kenya bordering Ethiopia and Somalia. The climate is hot and dry and the area largely undeveloped. It hosts a park, Malka Mari National Park that is not developed to host tourists.

Malka Mari National Park

Category: Tourist Attractions in Mandera County

Malka Mari was gazetted in 1989 and is a IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature).Malka Mari National Park is situated along the banks of Daua River on the Kenya – Ethiopia border. It is approximately 1,500km2 in size and is located on the Mandera Plateau in the extreme north of Kenya.

It has a high concentration of wildlife and plants with some plants being endemic to the area.

The park is mostly semi-arid bushland and scrubby grassland with riparian woodland along the river.

Malka Mari park It experiences a hot and dry climate and is yet to be developed to host tourists.


Malka Mari fort
Scenery of hills and valleys
Desert climate

How to get there

Mandera Airstrip

For more information visit: Malka Mari National Park

Constituencies in Mandera County

Mandera West Constituency
Banissa Constituency
Mandera North Constituency
Mandera South Constituency
Mandera East Constituency
Lafey Constituency

Mandera County Wards

The County Administratively is subdivided into six Sub Counties namely Mandera West, Mandera South, Banissa, Mandera North, Mandera East and Lafey and further to 30 administrative wards. These wards include:

Banissa Sub County


Mandera West Sub County

Takaba South

Mandera East Sub County

Bulla Mpya

Lafey Sub County

Alango Gof

Mandera North Sub County

Rhamu Dimtu

Mandera South Sub County

Elwak South
Elwak North
Shimbir Fatuma

Mandera County Jobs

Mandera County Jobs opportunities are for all qualified personnel and those who would wish to work with Mandera County government. Jobs in Mandera County are posted on the county website.

Jobs in Mandera County are awarded in a free, fair and transparency manner in the need to fight corruption in the country and the county.

To access these Mandera County jobs advertisement click the link: Mandera County Jobs for the latest job opportunities in the county.

Mandera County Tenders

Mandera County tenders are awarded in a free, fair and transparency manner in the need to fight corruption in the country and the county.

To access tenders in Mandera County click the link: for the latest tender opportunities in the county.

Mandera County Governor and Deputy Governor

The current governor of Mandera County is H.E Governor, Capt. Ali Ibrahim Roba and the deputy governor is H.E. Omar Mohamed Maalim.

Mandera County Map

Mandera County Map
Mandera County Map
Other Counties in Kenya
  • Baringo County
  • Bomet County
  • Bungoma County
  • Busia County
  • Elgeyo Marakwet County
  • Embu County
  • Garissa County
  • Homa Bay County
  • Isiolo County
  • Kajiado County
  • Kakamega County
  • Kericho County
  • Kiambu County
  • Kilifi County
  • Kirinyaga County
  • Kisii County
  • Kisumu County
  • Kitui County
  • Kwale County
  • Laikipia County
  • Lamu County
  • Machakos County
  • Makueni County
  • Mandera County
  • Meru County
  • Migori County
  • Marsabit County
  • Mombasa County
  • Muranga County
  • Nairobi County
  • Nakuru County
  • Nandi County
  • Narok County
  • Nyamira County
  • Nyandarua County
  • Nyeri County
  • Samburu County
  • Siaya County
  • Taita Taveta County
  • Tana River County
  • Tharaka Nithi County
  • Trans Nzoia County
  • Turkana County
  • Uasin Gishu County
  • Vihiga County
  • Wajir County
  • West Pokot County

Mandera County Contacts

Mandera County Government
P.O. Box 13-70300
Mandera, Kenya
Tel: +254 046 210 4000

Mandera County Website

Mandera County Video