Tana River County News

Tana River County is one of the forty seven (47) counties in the Republic of Kenya. The County takes its name from River Tana which is the longest river in Kenya.

It is a County in the former Coast Province, Kenya with an area of 35,375.8 square kilometers (13,658.7 sq mi) and a population of 262,684 according to the 2012 census. The administrative headquarter of the county is Hola. Tana River County has three sub counties; Bura, Galole and Garsen.

Location and Geography of Tana River County

Tana River County is one of the six Counties in the Coast region. It borders Kitui County to the West, Garissa County to the North East, Isiolo County to the North, Lamu County to the South East and Kilifi County to the South.

The county lies between latitudes 000’53” and 200’41’’ South and longitudes 38025’43” and 40015’ East. The county has a total area of 38,862.2 Km2 and covers about 35km of the coastal strip. The major physical feature in Tana River County is an undulating plain that is interrupted in a few places by low hills at Bilbil around Madogo and Bura divisions. The land in Tana river generally slopes south eastwards with an altitude that ranges between 20m to 200m above sea level at the top of the Bilbil hills.

The River Tana traverses the county from Tharaka County in the North to the Indian Ocean in the South passing through Tana Delta and covering a stretch of approximately 500km.

The most striking topographical feature is the River Tana that traverses the county from the Aberdares in the North to the Indian Ocean in the South covering a stretch of approximately 500km.

Besides the River Tana, there are several seasonal rivers in the county popularly known as lagas, which flow in a west-east direction from the counties of Kitui and Makueni, draining into River Tana and eventually into the Indian Ocean. The river beds support livestock as well as wildlife during the dry season since they have high ability to retain water. River beds are most appropriate sites for shallow wells, sub-surface dams as well as earth pans.

Tana River County Population

According to the population census of the year 2012, projected population for the county is 262,684 with 131,544 being female and 131,140 male. There are only two areas categorized as urban centres (Hola and Madogo) with a total projected population of 36,285 persons. The settlement patterns are random but are concentrated close to the river.

People of Tana River County

The dominant ethnic groups are the Pokomo, many of whom are farmers, and the Orma and Wardey, who are predominantly nomadic. Other tribes include the Waata and Boni who are culturally Hunters and gatherers, the Wailwana /Malakote and the Bajuni. It should be noted that the area is home to other Kenyan ethnic groups.

These include the Luos, Kambas, Taitas, Giriamas, Kisii and Kikuyus and Somali immigrants among others.
Hola the capital town of Tana River was the site of a detention camp during the British colonial rule.

Wildlife in Tana River County

The Tana River Delta is the second most important estuarine and deltaic ecosystem in Eastern Africa .It comprises of a diverse range of habitats that support a rich diversity of wildlife and plants.The rare species of monkeys in Tana primate reserve are Tana Mangabey ( Cercocebusgaleritus ) . The Tana River mangabey is a medium-sized, long-tailed monkey with a yellowish-brown coat, and a centre parting on the crown with very long, darker fur diverging from it on either side. Like allCercocebus , this species possesses white eyelids that contrast with the dark colour of the face, a feature thought to aid visual communication through facial expression.The molars of this species are long and the incisors are very large, allowing this mangabey to exploit hard seeds in it.Other species of monkey are Tana River Red Colobus ( Procolobusrufomitratusrufomitratus ) and White-collared Monkey (Cercopithecusmitisalbotorquatus )

Tourist attractions in Taita Taveta County

Over 600 plant species have been identified, including the endangered Cynometra lukei and Gonatopus marattioides. The Tana delta area supports many tens of thousands of wetland birds and is internationally important for the survival of no less than 22 species of birds (BirdLife International). It’s a home 57 species of mammals i.e. zebras gazelles hippos lion giraffes and crocodiles at the Tana primate reserve locally known as Mchelelo Game reserve.

Accommodation in Tana River County

Some of the top accommodation facilities can be found at Delta Dunes Lodge among many other places

Tana River County Jobs

Tana River County Jobs opportunities for all qualified personnel and those who would wish to work with Tana River County government. Jobs in Tana River County are posted on the county website.

Jobs in Tana River County are awarded in a free, fair and transparency manner in the need to fight corruption in the country.

To access these Tana River county jobs advertisement click the link: Tana River County Jobs for the latest job opportunities in the county.

Tana River County Tenders

Tana River county tenders are awarded in a free, fair and transparency manner in the need to fight corruption in the country.

To access tenders in Tana River county click the link: http://www.tanariver.go.ke/tenders/ for the latest job opportunities in the county.

Tana River County Governor and Deputy Governor

The current governor of Tana River County is Hon. Hussein Dado and the deputy governor is Hon. Jire Sayat.

Constituencies in Tana River County

  1. Garsen Constituency
  2. Galole Constituency
  3. Bura Constituency

Tana River County Wards

Details about Tana River County Wards will be updated soon…

Tana River County Contacts

Physical Location: Trade House, County Council Road Hola, Kenya.
Postal Address: P. O. Box 29 -70101
Town: Hola, Kenya
Email: info@tanariver.go.ke

Tana River County Website

Website: http://www.tanariver.go.ke/

Tana River County Map
Tana River County Map

Tana River County Video